Great Books Week: Desert Island Reading List

I’ve been watching Great Books Week from the sidelines, and with today’s challenge I decided to jump into the fray.

If you were stranded alone on a deserted island, what five books would you want?

I immediately began thinking of the books that I name as my favorites when asked. But this question goes deeper that listing which books made a great impression on me. If I only had five books to read and re-read for the rest of my life, what would I choose?

The Poisonwood Bible
I’ve re-read this one many times, and I’m due for another soon. I love everything about this book, from the setting and the characters to Barbara Kingsolver’s delicious prose.

The Sun Also Rises
Perhaps it would be better to choose a longer Hemingway work, but this remains my absolute favorite from him. I savor the ending in particular; many times, I have picked up the book just to read the last page.

The English Patient
This book is relatively new to me; I only read it last year. And I immediately wondered why it took so long. I loved the story, and I became very emotionally involved with the characters.

The Complete Collection of William Shakespeare
I had to include a collection! Maybe then I would finally read every play by Shakespeare, one of my literary goals. At the very least, the gilded pages might be used to signal a rescue plane.

Watchmen
This was the first graphic novel I read, and it may remain the greatest. It contains a rich and complex story that only ripens upon re-reads. I recommend it to anyone who loves a good story.

All of this makes me realize that I am due for several re-reads! Did someone say “reading challenge”?

3 responses to “Great Books Week: Desert Island Reading List

  1. Oh I’d have the Poisonwood Bible with me too! Great pick 🙂

  2. Love that Watchman makes your list. For other graphic novels that are stellar, do look for the Sandman Series by Neil Gaiman. Not only does he write fantastically creepy novels like American Gods, his graphic novels are brilliant!
    On the readathon – Dee from e-Volving Books

    • Thanks! Gaiman’s Graveyard Book is on my readathon list, and I’m enjoying it so far–can’t wait to see more from him!

Leave a Reply

